The Mockingjay Sings!

3

Posted by 4blake | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on May 30, 2014

People say winners are made out of sinew and honor, but I believe in the winner who has faults and a brain. I believe in Anne Foyer. So far, I can tell she works visually and that she never does anything without having a plan. Throughout the entire games, I have been saving money to send Anne a map; showing her the location of her and all the other remaining tributes. Just this morning, I woke up and saw Anne on the TV following a pack of Careers. I think she is trying to get a pattern of their habits so she can use them to her advantage.

I know that Anne is suffering from breathing problems left over from the tsunami, so I want to give her the best shot she has. I quickly stuff the first envelope I find with money and careful instructions saying, I have given you money so that you may use it to send a silver parachute to Anne Foyer. You are to place a map in it that shows the location of all remaining tributes. She is to receive the parachute right after they display the names of the dead. Thank you, and may the odds be ever in your favor. After sealing the eggshell envelope with tender care, I sprint to the post office and send it away to the Capitol. Hopefully Anne will go to sleep tonight with a plan of revenge and victory.

As I walk home from the post office, I have a daydream of all the ways I could try to be more like Anne, she is who I have always wanted to be. At dinner, I pretend to be looking across the table to my father. I am actually intent on the TV behind him. There is a brief flash of Anne, nestled high in a safe looking tree. I see her face brighten and know she sees her gift floating down from the heavens. As Anne unravels the map, she has a look of confusion that quickly turns into gratitude. Right then, she turns to look directly at the camera, as if giving a silent thank you to me. Your welcome Anne, I just hope it’s enough to keep you alive.

Comments (3)

This was an amazing blog post, I loved your attention getter. I noticed little to no grammatical mistakes. You also included good vivid verbs and good creative details. I relay like the line “I have given you money so that you may use it to send a silver parachute to Anne Foyer. You are to place a map in it that shows the location of all remaining tributes. She is to receive the parachute right after they display the names of the dead. Thank you, and may the odds be ever in your favor.” Great Job.

Really great job! I really like how you told about how the parachute changed the tribute and gave them hope. Also, really creative with the map idea!! I really liked your last sentence, and how you still gave her hope!

Such a great job, Blake! You did such a good job explaining everything. You also used such good vivid word choices. My favorite was this sentence; “After sealing the eggshell envelope with tender care, I sprint to the post office and send it away to the Capitol.” The only thing I found wrong was in this sentence “Your welcome Anne, I just hope it’s enough to keep you alive.” It should be “You’re” instead of “your.” Otherwise, good job.

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar